Race reports- Ruiselede Kermesse

94 kilometers     2 hours 15 minutes  

This kermesse wasn’t the biggest or longest I’ve done, but we put the hammer down from the start, attempting to wake our legs from their jet-lag slumber. Having the all of the guys, especially Greg Daniel, eating their stems made the race somewhat of a team time trial. We  were able to get most of the team (5) into a 9-man break which worked well together up until the closing lap where a couple attacks softened our legs before the final kick to the line. I was blocked in the sprint when on the winning Belgian’s wheel, making him my rabbit that I wouldn’t be catching since this happened with only 200 meters to go. C’est la vie. I was 4th along with a 2nd, 6th,7th,9th, and 22nd from our team. Here is the Strava file I promised (I didn’t have my power meter, just stealing other’s): http://app.strava.com/rides/19399050

Coming up this weekend are big one-day races, the Omloop Mandel-Leie-Schelde (7 bergs including the Oude Kwaremont/Paterberg) and then Vlaamse Gewesten(WINDY). I did both last year with a 19th and 8th place which I’m looking to improve on.         Thanks for reading

Leave a Reply

